A World of Differences Comenius Multilateral Project 2008-10


SOLIDARITY STORIES

01/11/2009 13:01

 A TRIP TO THE REST HOUSE

 

The child’s way of perceiving the world is so different from that of the old that two worlds are almost mutually incomprehensible. But I think the grief and joy are the ones that are in common between two. On our trip to the Rest House, we became aware of that we would no longer know in words that which we have always known in thought. One of our students uttered that “Life has really been hard on these people. There must be more than what we see here”.

 

Whatever the reason might be, nothing could conceivably justify the putting these people into a rest house. Their loneliness can be attributed to many things, to be put aside by their own children maybe or feeling lonely after all the people around them gone away.

 

The students seemed to be fully satisfied with the trip to the Rest House. What students respected so much about them, for many years, through thick and thin, they’d always led the way for their loved ones. To our surprise, in spite of all, they were left here and overwhelmed with loneliness.

 

Anyway, we were sure about cheering them up even if it lasted short.

  

       Çiğdem Kirazlar

 English Teacher

 

  

 

 

THE OLD STAYING AT A REST HOUSE

 

 

They are our grandparents, uncles but especially the elder ones who are staying in silence and loneliness. They had been fallen apart from their loved ones and been waiting for death, the end, with no expectations from the life, itself. They even think of death as an escape from all the things that burden on them.

 

But, it is not difficult actually to pull them out of hopelessness and silence. They do the cleaning on their own; they are tied up to the television all day. The only thing they wish for is having chat with people and feeling about being loved. I think they do not want much from the life just like all of us do. You can clearly see the light in their eyes shining upon you when you cuddle them whole-heartedly how they are in need of love and affectionate.

 

I can tell a story if you like. I joined a trip to the rest house with some of my school friends and excursion club teachers of our school and met the old staying there. They became happy about all the questions we asked. They don’t want to stop talking as if they were in silence for years. Because we made them feel that they are important for us. They are our past. We gave presents to them, got the advantage of their experiences, poured out our feelings, sang and had fun together. It was a wonderful day. I must confess that it was one of the nicest days I’d ever had in my life. Because I experienced both grief and also happiness with them. I’m sure all of my friends felt as the same way as I did. All happened in 2 hours. I wish I stayed there longer. But we had to go back to school.

 

As I explained above, they are our grandparents, uncles but especially the elder ones who are staying in silence and loneliness. We should do something more for them.

 

 

 

           Mehmet ACIOĞLU

   Şanlıurfa GAP Anadolu Lisesi

              10FEN-B Class

 

 

 

  

A WOMAN WHO CHANGED ONE MAN’S LIFE

 

There are so many feelings that affect people. Joy, grief, fun, spirit, anger and many more. The most important of all is the one that affects us much.

 

I wanna talk about our trip to the rest house and these various feelings that made each person feel different things.

 

We were going to visit a rest house in our city. We got informed before and made preparations. I was really wondering about what kind of place it is, what people are doing there and how they spend their whole day. When I arrived there, I was going to find out all the things in my mind anyway. When I first went there, I didn’t know what I was going to do, how I was going to behave or what to speak, but everything seemed to be happened spontaneously. Everybody was different from each other and has different story and different reasons to stay there. When they saw us they became so happy that one could surely understand that. Somebody remembered them in a place that far away from all their families, relatives, friends and acquaintances.

 

There were three that distracted my attention much. One of them is the man who made jokes continuously, smiled a lot despite all the hardships he suffered. The other one said no words at all. He was as if he was afraid to say something. I forced myself to understand the pain inside of him. These must be trying times that he must face up to them. What was it that thrown him away and affected him so badly? I’d really want to learn it but I think I’ll never get at it.

 

Lastly, Ahmet… He had been staring at me since we first arrived. I couldn’t make any sense until I began to chat with him. He told me that I look like his niece died in a traffic accident happened two years ago. He had a sorrowful story as well as the hardest one. Ahmet had deeply loved a girl called Sevim when he was young. He’d wished to marry her but her family had opposed this marriage. From then on, he had been as if he was dead to the world. He had so deeply been in love that there had been nobody to put into his heart in place of Sevim and he had refused to get married. He had written poems to her and sung all the songs for her just as if she had been locked into his heart. He shared his poems with us. Who knows? Perhaps these poems wouldn’t have been written if Sevim had been with him. He never fell in love with someone again. At last he decided to stay at this rest house. When I asked him whether he recognized Sevim when he met her again. He sighed and raised his hand, smiling “Impossible!! It has been more than 40 years since I last saw her”, he said. 40 years hadn’t made Ahmet forget about her. It’s amazingly too long. When I asked him how he spent his life here, he said that he didn’t make any sense how days keep going hastily. It had been Sevim’s love that made him survive all these days and gave strength to carry on. Sevim, out of reach for him ever. She means the world to him. It may be this love story that made Ahmet unforgettable for us and his dedication to love or his patience perhaps…….

 

 

                Eda KÜRKÇÜOĞLU

        Şanlıurfa GAP Anadolu Lisesi

                11 FEN-A Class  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

—————

Back